SLTC Council Members 2023


Professor William Wise BSc, MSc, PhD, MRSC, FSLTC
Professor of Leather Science & Research Leader for ICLT
The University of Northampton


Vice President

John Hubbard CChem MRSC BSc (Hons) FSLTC
Technical Consultant
FIRA International Ltd

Honorary Secretary/Treasurer

David Miller FSLTC
Tannery Manager ICLT
The University of Northampton


Honorary Editor

Mr M K Leafe BSc (Hons) CChem MRSC

Membership Secretary

Mrs Pat Potter BSc (Hons) FSLTC

Co-ordinator of Technical Sub-Committee

Dr Stefan Davis MChem PhD MRSC CChem ASLTC
Senior Lecturer ICLT
The University of Northampton

SLTC Representative on the IULTCS Executive Committee

Dr Christine Anscombe BSc DUniv FSLTC
Assistant Director (Marketing)
SATRA Technology Centre Ltd

Council Members

John Avery FSLTC
Avery Leather Consulting Ltd

Andrew Ballantyne MChem (Hons) PhD MRSC
Senior Lecturer ICLT
The University of Northampton

Michael Thompson BSc. (Hons)
Technical Process Development Manager
Scottish Leather Group Operations Limited

Laurence Irwin BSc. FSLTC
Head of Product Management
Smit & Zoon

Kristopher MacDonald FSLTC
Technical Manager
Clyde Leather Co

Julian Osgood BSc. FSLTC
Julian Osgood Consulting

Stephen Trantum BSc. FSLTC
Regional Marketing & Sales Manager
Trumpler GmbH & Co KG

Deborah Taylor PCQI, ASLTC
Managing Director
Sustainable Leather Foundation


Contact SLTC at


Electronic Journal

Our Sponsors